EvO:R Indie Reviews

EvO:R Pages
•  CD Reviews
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Home
•  EvO:R-Pedia
•  EvO:R Sitemap
•  Home Page
•  Buy CD's
•  Free Music
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Gear
•  Join EvO:R
•  Insider Tips
•  Guitars
•  Music News
•  Discussion
•  Best Sites
Carrera Reviews
•  CD Reviews
•  Caterine
•  Chigger Red
•  Frank Cotolo
•  Karl Kalbaugh
•  Roberto Luz
•  R.I.P.E.
•  TL2 Review
•  Southern Logic
•  JDA Review
•  Jeza Review
•  2nd Story Review
•  Industry Links
•  Band Links
Indie CD's
• CD's Gospel
• CD's Soul
• CD's Hip Hop
• CD's Dance
• CD's Electronic
• CD's Pop
• CD's R&B
• CD's Rap
• CD's Urban
• CD's Funk
• CD's Industrial
• CD's Seasonal
• CD's Funk
• CD's New Age
• CD's Guitars
• CD's Jazz
• CD's Classical
• CD's Comedy
• CD's Country
• CD's Folk
• CD's Rock
• CD's Alternative
• CD's Blues
• CD's World
• CD's Metal
•  Testimonials
•  Contact Us
•  Suggest Us
•  Link to Us
•  EvO:R Hats
•  EvO:R Shirts
•  EvO:R Clocks
•  EvO:R Visors
•  EvO:R Gear
• Radio
• PodCast
Ask Rick
• Guitar Questions
Welcome to EvO:R Entertainment
  •  The Independent Musicians CD Reviews

    Welcome to the EvO:R Independent CD Reviews Section.
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce ourselves to everyone. The EvO:R review section features reviews from various independent musicians that submit material for our consideration.

    I wanted to let you know a little about our review teams collective thoughts on music. It's important to let the people we review know what we think of their music and how we listened to their creations.

    We hold nothing back! The team has been instructed to be honest and respectful of all CD's reviewed.
    The EvO:R CD Review Team
    Artist: Natasha Owens
    Album: I Made it Through
    Rating: 7.5/10
    Website: Buy CD
    Video: Music Samples
    Reviewed by: Nathan Kidwell
    Edited by: Markus Druery
    Review Comments: marktheshark972@gmail.com

    The debut release by Natasha Owens “I Made it Through” cannot be underscored. Simple poppy light rock n' roll music isn't what Owens is ultimately trying to achieve here, at least that’s what I perceive. Nope, simply put this CD is much bigger than that. It’s a foundation for a ministry.

    Owens invites the listener to sift through a multitude of jazzy-pop sounds, all of which congeal in a tangible yet gorgeous selection of songs. It’s all kicked off by “Let Go” which if you think about it is the perfect intro piece to repent from. There’s somewhat of a hopeful tone and mood here when one is introduced to Owens warm voice for the first time via this track. Her voice is well suited for the catalogue and I have to admit when I saw the her face as I was listening to the song - she was everything I imagined her to be. On “I Made it Through” we hear an honest a theme reflecting the many admirable ethics provided by the great state of Texas.

    This proves to be a very well grounded environment for many of these songs like “Can’t Stop this Fire”, Always Will” and “Remains.” Despite this Owens branches off with other tracks like “Can’t Stop this Fire and “The Cure.” While Texas is home to some of the best in Contemporary Christian music it’s not as detectable on “I Made it Though” as one would think. I could be wrong but I don’t recall hearing word Jesus sprinkled throughout the set as initially expected. Granted there's no rule out there that says Contemporary Christian artists have to comply with this rationale - hence not my point. My point is along with artists like Amy Grant, Owens has never been held to a strict guideline of religious fundamentalism. I hate to use that word “fundamentalism” here but that’s the way it feels sometime we approach religion. I also don’t think “fundamentalism” is what Christianity is all about either.

    It’s also unfair artists like Amy Grant have been called out by many for this almost secular approach - when all she has ever done was to release amazing and uplifting music over the years. I mean lighten up!

    I Made it Through” is a strong and catchy album, especially within all Christian media and radio. “I Made it Through” also refuses to fall into the trap of becoming fundamentally flawed or even a slightly repetitive pop album. The musical arrangements really differ from song to song and the vocals and emotional latitude tend to remain compatible with that versatility. All a constant level throughout. Its music that you could use to watch the clouds go by to – but also music that makes you want to jump up, grab your guitar and form a band to inspire or share your experiences with others to help them – “get through”. Ultimately this is what music and region are meant to do - inspire.
    Reviewed by: Nathan Kidwell
    Edited by: Markus Druery
    Review Comments: marktheshark972@gmail.com
    The EvO:R CD Reviews Home Page

    Want EvO:R to review your music?
    It will be honest and above all, very interesting. You will be granted permission to reproduce the review or link to the review on any artist websites or social media sites.

    Due to the cost involved with hiring quality reviewers we will require a $15.00 donation when submitting a CD for review. Simply click the "donate" button to the right to donate $15.00 for your professional review.

    After making your donation you can send your CD to:
  • Charlie Harrelson
    EvO:R Reviewer
    855 Markham Wood Rd
    Longwood, Fl.

  • Please, no emails with links to music. We do require a CD for any reviews.
    Reviews will appear in the order that CD's are sent so don't delay as it takes a few weeks for reviews to appear! If your CD is good enough it may qualify for the top 25 Indie CD's of all time.

  • All content © 2001 -2013 EvO:R Entertainment