EvO:R Indie Reviews

EvO:R Pages
•  CD Reviews
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Home
•  EvO:R-Pedia
•  EvO:R Sitemap
•  Home Page
•  Buy CD's
•  Free Music
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Gear
•  Join EvO:R
•  Insider Tips
•  Guitars
•  Music News
•  Discussion
•  Best Sites
Carrera Reviews
•  CD Reviews
•  Caterine
•  Chigger Red
•  Frank Cotolo
•  Karl Kalbaugh
•  Roberto Luz
•  R.I.P.E.
•  TL2 Review
•  Southern Logic
•  JDA Review
•  Jeza Review
•  2nd Story Review
•  Industry Links
•  Band Links
Indie CD's
• CD's Gospel
• CD's Soul
• CD's Hip Hop
• CD's Dance
• CD's Electronic
• CD's Pop
• CD's R&B
• CD's Rap
• CD's Urban
• CD's Funk
• CD's Industrial
• CD's Seasonal
• CD's Funk
• CD's New Age
• CD's Guitars
• CD's Jazz
• CD's Classical
• CD's Comedy
• CD's Country
• CD's Folk
• CD's Rock
• CD's Alternative
• CD's Blues
• CD's World
• CD's Metal
•  Testimonials
•  Contact Us
•  Suggest Us
•  Link to Us
•  EvO:R Hats
•  EvO:R Shirts
•  EvO:R Clocks
•  EvO:R Visors
•  EvO:R Gear
• Radio
• PodCast
Ask Rick
• Guitar Questions
Welcome to EvO:R Entertainment
  •  The Independent Musicians CD Reviews

    Welcome to the EvO:R Independent CD Reviews Section.
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce ourselves to everyone. The EvO:R review section features reviews from various independent musicians that submit material for our consideration.

    I wanted to let you know a little about our review teams collective thoughts on music. It's important to let the people we review know what we think of their music and how we listened to their creations.

    We hold nothing back! The team has been instructed to be honest and respectful of all CD's reviewed.
    The EvO:R CD Review Team
  • Artist: Brent Steed
  • Album: Horror Avenue N. 7
  • Genre: Theatric-Alternative/Metal
  • Official Website:http://brentsteed.com/
  • Buy Music:CD Baby
  • Downloads:Amazon Downloads
  • Social Media:Face Book
  • Social Media:Twitter
  • Video Media:YouTube
  • Rating:6.5 out of 10 stars
  • Review by: Charles Harrelson
  • Edited by: Charles Harrelson
  • Review Comments: bendem56@yahoo.com

    Brent Steed has tried to do what few musicians have been able to do successfully for generations. That is, to self produce his own work. Why this is a path to failure is simple. The lack of other opinions leads to a very one dimensional offering. When Roger Waters introduced the demo tracks for the upcoming "The Wall" album the band members called it the worst thing they had ever heard. This lead to much tension between band mates but in the end one of the most succesfull classic Rock albums of all time gets released. Thankfully, final results sounded nothing like the original demo. The reason almost every successfull album had a quality producer involved is simple. Having that second set of eyes and ears in a recording session is priceless. Having someone willing to push the artist to be better creates a bit of positive tension. This tension can translate into a better sounding track and ultimately a better overall album.

    This concept album was released on December 21, 2012, the very same day as the end of the world. HORROR AVENUE N. 7* contains seven tracks contaminated with U.F.O. logical encounters, religious sects, spirituality and politics all to a backdrop of drop tuning guitars with the gain control set to Max. The CD begins by defying my #1 rule for independent artists. That rule is simply called the "Best Three First" rule. Because an indie artist is not known they have not garnered the respect of the listening audience. Many CD's are sent to reviewers (like us at EVOR) and the reviewer makes a decision about the CD within the first 3 songs. If you are not putting the best three songs first the CD may be in a trash dump before the reviewer ever heard your best stuff.

    The CD begins with the title track. It featured plenty of sound effects and an announcer in the background. I know this was to lead up to the guitar driven riff to follow on track 2 but the beginning was so slow developing I almost stopped playing the whole thing.

    Vocally, Steed is a lot like Alice Cooper and Billy Corgan. He has that nasal but evil sound in his voice which lends itself well to this theatrical music experience. Tracks two and three were pretty much what I would have expected from this genre. Plenty of guitar crunch, pounding rythms and catchy vocals. Then Steed switches gears for "Down on Me" which takes a soft guitar riff and a programmed drum beat to a new level. Steed shows his emotional side on this tune and it was a refreshing change of pace. The CD returns to the hard rock meets theater rock genre for track 5 and 6 only to end with a soft ballad which exposes Steeds slightly flat of pitch vocals. The song was good enough to servive the vocal flaws but a producer would catch this and have it fixed in Pro Tool or make you do it over again.

    Samples from the CD

  • 1. Horror Avenue
  • 2. Space Kravboy
  • 3. Mother!
  • 4. Down On Me
  • 5. Liar
  • 6. She's Just a Punk
  • 7. Into Your Heart
  • In the Studio

    The studio should be considered another instrument in the band because an average song can be made great with the right techniques and a good producer. A great song can also be ruined by someone lacking in studio skills. Unfortunatly, this CD suffers from a lack of great studio skills. Many of the guitar tracks were recorded with gain set to Max or damn close. This tends to sound great through headphones and smaller studio monitors but the oversatuartion levels of two or three highly distorted guitars will also take up valuable frequency real-estate. The results will cause the mix to sound out of place and could cloud the vocals. A suggestion for the future would be to record one track super distored and one track very clean and bright. You might even run the clean guitar direct to avoid any possbile ground hum. This method has proven itself time and again. This method of recording guitar tracks will also clear up some room for the vocals to cut through the mix much better.
    This is one of those albums the studio let down the musicians (or musician). I loved the concept album. I loved the songs but I didn't not like the way the CD was recorded and the slightly flat (at times) vocals bothered me. Hopefully the next offering from Brent Steed will have all the bases cover and start off with a bang and never let the listener go. If you like Smashing Pumpkins and Alcie Cooper you should love Brent Steed (warts and all).
    6.5 out of 10.
    Review by: Charlie Harrelson
    Edited by: Charlie Harrelson
    Review Comments: bendem56@yahoo.com

    The EvO:R CD Reviews Home Page

    Want EvO:R to review your music?

    It will be honest and above all, very interesting. You will be granted permission to reproduce the review or link to the review on any artist websites or social media sites. After the review is completed we will contact you to inquire about having your review posted on 12 major Indie music sites. This program gets your name and review in front to thousands of eyes.

    We only require a $25.00 donation when submitting a CD for review. Simply click the "Buy Now" button to the right to donate $25.00 for your professional review.

    After making your donation you can send your CD to:
  • Charlie Harrelson
    EvOR Reviewer
    855 Markham Wood Rd
    Longwood, Fl.

  • Please, no emails with links to music. We do require a CD for any reviews.
    Reviews will appear in the order that CD's are sent so don't delay as it takes a few weeks for reviews to appear! If your CD is good enough it may qualify for the top 25 Indie CD's of all time.

  • All content © 2001 -2015 EvO:R Entertainment