EvO:R Indie Reviews

EvO:R Pages
•  CD Reviews
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Home
•  EvO:R-Pedia
•  EvO:R Sitemap
•  Home Page
•  Buy CD's
•  Free Music
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Gear
•  Join EvO:R
•  Insider Tips
•  Guitars
•  Music News
•  Discussion
•  Best Sites
Carrera Reviews
•  CD Reviews
•  Caterine
•  Chigger Red
•  Frank Cotolo
•  Karl Kalbaugh
•  Roberto Luz
•  R.I.P.E.
•  TL2 Review
•  Southern Logic
•  JDA Review
•  Jeza Review
•  2nd Story Review
•  Industry Links
•  Band Links
Indie CD's
• CD's Gospel
• CD's Soul
• CD's Hip Hop
• CD's Dance
• CD's Electronic
• CD's Pop
• CD's R&B
• CD's Rap
• CD's Urban
• CD's Funk
• CD's Industrial
• CD's Seasonal
• CD's Funk
• CD's New Age
• CD's Guitars
• CD's Jazz
• CD's Classical
• CD's Comedy
• CD's Country
• CD's Folk
• CD's Rock
• CD's Alternative
• CD's Blues
• CD's World
• CD's Metal
•  Testimonials
•  Contact Us
•  Suggest Us
•  Link to Us
•  EvO:R Hats
•  EvO:R Shirts
•  EvO:R Clocks
•  EvO:R Visors
•  EvO:R Gear
• Radio
• PodCast
Ask Rick
• Guitar Questions
Welcome to EvO:R Entertainment
  •  The Independent Musicians CD Reviews

    Welcome to the EvO:R Independent CD Reviews Section.
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce ourselves to everyone. The EvO:R review section features reviews from various independent musicians that submit material for our consideration.

    I wanted to let you know a little about our review teams collective thoughts on music. It's important to let the people we review know what we think of their music and how we listened to their creations.

    We hold nothing back! The team has been instructed to be honest and respectful of all CD's reviewed.
    The EvO:R CD Review Team
    Artist: Winter Circle
    Album: Clouds Call the Ground
    Rating: 8/10
    Website: Buy CD
    Video: Music Samples
    Reviewed by: Eli Gattis
    Edited by: Joshua Beach
    Review Comments: joshuabeach9@gmail.com

    Who doesn’t like rock music from Oklahoma? I’d bet all hands go up in the air. I mean most people can’t deny getting into a good Oklahoma rock groove and really enjoy well written music from that area. You know bands like: Flaming Lips, Hinder, Hanson and Starlight Mints. Well, keeping this in mind this new 10 track release by Winter Circle interestingly enough Clouds Call the Ground is an exceptional musical release that’s very multi-dimensional to say the least. Oh and did I mention they are from Oklahoma?

    It also however possesses an old school alt-rock core accessible by all music fans. Does all of this sound a bit over the top to you? Just listen to marquee tracks like “Lights out” “Wake Up”and “Push the Slaves out the Door” and you’ll see my perspective. I got hooked on Winter Circe right away after reading their Bio.

    Three years ago Winter Circle thought they would never make music again. On the heels of a growing tour schedule and a shift to perform music full-time lead singer Kevin Dawson began suffering agonizing daily pain eventually diagnosed as Avascular Necrosis, a debilitating degenerative bone disease that causes limited use and then death of once-healthy joints and bones. But Winter Circle has now picked up where they left off. Thru a charity Dawson was able to have two complete hip replacement surgeries and rehabilitate his legs which allowed him the ability to walk again and re-focus on Winter Circle.

    Returning with their debut full-length album "Clouds Call to Ground", this ten-song album is mesmerizing indie rock built on catchy guitars, textured synths and introspective vocal hooks and serves as the long-awaited follow-up to their previous EP "The Huge and Hopefull." While the main focus of this genre of music is generally the high energy feel that doesn’t mean that the instrumentation and vocals fall behind here. With Winter Circle it never feel like an afterthought. Hence the vocal work from Dawson really brings it all together. I especially like how these guys collaborate.

    These guys manage to move between the technical sounds and the more rocking ones all the while being undeniably Hard Rock based. Band is an impressive combination of Rival Schools and Thursday with a little Incubus on the side. All in all it’s a powerful combination that puts a band like Winter Circle on the map for 2013. They should go a long way towards proving that real music is still alive and well in Oklahoma City. Clouds Call the Ground is a rocking 16 track CD that I just can’t recommend enough.
    Reviewed by: Eli Gattis
    Edited by: Joshua Beach
    Review Comments: joshuabeach9@gmail.com
    The EvO:R CD Reviews Home Page

    Want EvO:R to review your music?
    It will be honest and above all, very interesting. You will be granted permission to reproduce the review or link to the review on any artist websites or social media sites.

    Due to the cost involved with hiring quality reviewers we will require a $15.00 donation when submitting a CD for review. Simply click the "donate" button to the right to donate $15.00 for your professional review.

    After making your donation you can send your CD to:
  • Charlie Harrelson
    EvO:R Reviewer
    855 Markham Wood Rd
    Longwood, Fl.

  • Please, no emails with links to music. We do require a CD for any reviews.
    Reviews will appear in the order that CD's are sent so don't delay as it takes a few weeks for reviews to appear! If your CD is good enough it may qualify for the top 25 Indie CD's of all time.

  • All content © 2001 -2013 EvO:R Entertainment