EvO:R Indie Reviews

EvO:R Pages
•  CD Reviews
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Home
•  EvO:R-Pedia
•  EvO:R Sitemap
•  Home Page
•  Buy CD's
•  Free Music
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Gear
•  Join EvO:R
•  Insider Tips
•  Guitars
•  Music News
•  Discussion
•  Best Sites
Carrera Reviews
•  CD Reviews
•  Caterine
•  Chigger Red
•  Frank Cotolo
•  Karl Kalbaugh
•  Roberto Luz
•  R.I.P.E.
•  TL2 Review
•  Southern Logic
•  JDA Review
•  Jeza Review
•  2nd Story Review
•  Industry Links
•  Band Links
Indie CD's
• CD's Gospel
• CD's Soul
• CD's Hip Hop
• CD's Dance
• CD's Electronic
• CD's Pop
• CD's R&B
• CD's Rap
• CD's Urban
• CD's Funk
• CD's Industrial
• CD's Seasonal
• CD's Funk
• CD's New Age
• CD's Guitars
• CD's Jazz
• CD's Classical
• CD's Comedy
• CD's Country
• CD's Folk
• CD's Rock
• CD's Alternative
• CD's Blues
• CD's World
• CD's Metal
•  Testimonials
•  Contact Us
•  Suggest Us
•  Link to Us
•  EvO:R Hats
•  EvO:R Shirts
•  EvO:R Clocks
•  EvO:R Visors
•  EvO:R Gear
• Radio
• PodCast
Ask Rick
• Guitar Questions
Welcome to EvO:R Entertainment
  •  The Independent Musicians CD Reviews

    Welcome to the EvO:R Independent CD Reviews Section.
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce ourselves to everyone. The EvO:R review section features reviews from various independent musicians that submit material for our consideration.

    I wanted to let you know a little about our review teams collective thoughts on music. It's important to let the people we review know what we think of their music and how we listened to their creations.

    We hold nothing back! The team has been instructed to be honest and respectful of all CD's reviewed.
    The EvO:R CD Review Team
    Artist: Sarah Kervin
    Album: Passing Through
    Genre: Jazz Crossover
    Rating: 8.5 out of 10 stars
    Website: Official Website
    Album: Download Album
    Reviewed by: Joshua Beach
    Edited by: Janne Zawa
    Review Comments: jannezawa@gmail.com

    So across my desk slides the new 10 track CD from New York based vocalist Sarah Kervin entitled “Passing Through”. During my initial research of Kervin there were a few lines from his bio that I really liked: After graduating with a jazz degree in saxophone & voice from the University of South Carolina and a master’s degree in jazz voice from the acclaimed University of North Texas, Sarah focused on her own artistic expression and released her first solo album, Passing Through, in May 2012.

    The collection of original works and innovative arrangements captures the twists and turns we all face on our journey through life. “ …it's amazing to see how much the words and the music have changed as I've developed as an artist and a person. I think this whole album represents a kind of conclusion I've reached in my life and my music – up to this point anyway.

    I’m excited to keep moving forward. My story’s not done yet!”As I spun the CD what I heard put a smile on my face. It’s a nice easy flowing record that delivers solid songwriting with a nice rock feel to it. Kervin adds his own voice to this impressive musical backdrop creating an engaging combination of passion and presence mixed with storytelling and emotion.

    Sarah Kervin rreminds me of Katie Melua, Adele, Duffy and even Dido. However you will also hear a side of R&B and Broadway Jazz along the way. If you like the above bands and musical styles you should definitely check out this CD. My favorite track is probably: Let Him Fly

    Songs available on CD Baby Website:
    Into the City /  Cold Empty Bed /  Passing Through /  Borrowin' Trouble /  Glitter in the Air /  It's Not That Easy /  Let Him Fly /  Samba De Encanto /  Guess Who I Saw Today /  Blues in the Night / 

    This CD is a solid release with many feel good grooves with a powerful Broadway Jazz feel to it. At the end of the day Sarah Kervin stands for good music and gives us a fresh glimpse at an amazing artist and takes us back a few years – before everything started sounding like – well like everything else.
    Reviewed by: Joshua Beach
    Edited by: Janne Zawa
    Review Comments: jannezawa@gmail.com
    The EvO:R CD Reviews Home Page

    Want EvO:R to review your music?
    It will be honest and above all, very interesting. You will be granted permission to reproduce the review or link to the review on any artist websites or social media sites.

    Due to the cost involved with hiring quality reviewers we will require a $15.00 donation when submitting a CD for review. Simply click the "donate" button to the right to donate $15.00 for your professional review.

    After making your donation you can send your CD to:
  • Charlie Harrelson
    EvO:R Reviewer
    855 Markham Wood Rd
    Longwood, Fl.

  • Please, no emails with links to music. We do require a CD for any reviews.
    Reviews will appear in the order that CD's are sent so don't delay as it takes a few weeks for reviews to appear! If your CD is good enough it may qualify for the top 25 Indie CD's of all time.

  • All content © 2001 -2013 EvO:R Entertainment