EvO:R Indie Reviews

EvO:R Pages
•  CD Reviews
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Home
•  EvO:R-Pedia
•  EvO:R Sitemap
•  Home Page
•  Buy CD's
•  Free Music
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Gear
•  Join EvO:R
•  Insider Tips
•  Guitars
•  Music News
•  Discussion
•  Best Sites
Carrera Reviews
•  CD Reviews
•  Caterine
•  Chigger Red
•  Frank Cotolo
•  Karl Kalbaugh
•  Roberto Luz
•  R.I.P.E.
•  TL2 Review
•  Southern Logic
•  JDA Review
•  Jeza Review
•  2nd Story Review
•  Industry Links
•  Band Links
Indie CD's
• CD's Gospel
• CD's Soul
• CD's Hip Hop
• CD's Dance
• CD's Electronic
• CD's Pop
• CD's R&B
• CD's Rap
• CD's Urban
• CD's Funk
• CD's Industrial
• CD's Seasonal
• CD's Funk
• CD's New Age
• CD's Guitars
• CD's Jazz
• CD's Classical
• CD's Comedy
• CD's Country
• CD's Folk
• CD's Rock
• CD's Alternative
• CD's Blues
• CD's World
• CD's Metal
•  Testimonials
•  Contact Us
•  Suggest Us
•  Link to Us
•  EvO:R Hats
•  EvO:R Shirts
•  EvO:R Clocks
•  EvO:R Visors
•  EvO:R Gear
• Radio
• PodCast
Ask Rick
• Guitar Questions
Welcome to EvO:R Entertainment
  •  The Independent Musicians CD Reviews

    Welcome to the EvO:R Independent CD Reviews Section.
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce ourselves to everyone. The EvO:R review section features reviews from various independent musicians that submit material for our consideration.

    I wanted to let you know a little about our review teams collective thoughts on music. It's important to let the people we review know what we think of their music and how we listened to their creations.

    We hold nothing back! The team has been instructed to be honest and respectful of all CD's reviewed.
    The EvO:R CD Review Team
  • Artist: Matthew Genovese
  • Album: Chasing the Sun EP
  • Genre: Indie Rock
  • Downloads: i-Tunes
  • Rating:7 out of 10 stars
  • Website: Band Official Website
    Review by: Carrie Middlebrooks
    Edited by: Heather Savage
    Review Comments: heathersavage5@gmail.com

    Chasing the Sun is the new five track EP from indie rocker Matthew Genovese. The opening track of the EP, “If I Can’t Have You,” is a strong, poppy ballad about moving on after a loss. The song boasts gifted lyricism and poetic expression that elevates it above the typical pop fodder while retaining the toe-tapping catchiness of a pop-ruck radio tune.

    Track two, “Strange Paradise,” picks up where the journey of “If I Can’t Have You” left off. Where the first track summons the feeling of leaving a bad situation, “Strange Paradise” calls to mind all of the questions and doubts that hit one’s mind as soon as they hit the road. Thematically and musically it is a smart and enjoyable follow-up to the first track. Horns, keyboards and a funky bass line usher in the third track, “Time’s Tickin’ Away,” which is a fun song that evokes late eighties pop fused with a bit jazz in a fun way.

    It’s a whistleworthy good time. Track four, “Nothing That I Do,” like the song that precedes it, focuses on chasing love with an upbeat, familiar and fun backdrop. The music is expertly executed and the vocals are flawless. Above all, the song is just fun. The fifth and final track on Chasing the Sun is called “Time Won’t Heal Me,” and it slows things down, adding a regretful and somber note to the end of the EP. It ties things together in such a way that you could view the collection of songs as the journey of a man leaving an unhappy situation to pursue infatuation, having that pursuit fail, and looking back to see that what he left in the first place wasn’t really that bad. In fact, he misses it and wants it back.

    When viewed through that lens, the structure and arrangement of the sMatthew Genoveseongs is expertly executed. You won’t find anything new or groundbreaking on the Chasing the Sun EP, but you will find familiar elements arranged in a new and interesting way. It’s worth a listen and it tells a compelling story. I give Chasing the Sun by Matthew Genovese seven out of ten stars.
    Rating: 7/10

    Review by: Carrie Middlebrooks
    Edited by: Heather Savage
    Review Comments: heathersavage5@gmail.com

    The EvO:R CD Reviews Home Page

    Want EvO:R to review your music?

    It will be honest and above all, very interesting. You will be granted permission to reproduce the review or link to the review on any artist websites or social media sites. After the review is completed we will contact you to inquire about having your review posted on 12 major Indie music sites. This program gets your name and review in front to thousands of eyes.

    We only require a $25.00 donation when submitting a CD for review. Simply click the "Buy Now" button to the right to donate $25.00 for your professional review.

    After making your donation you can send your CD to:
  • Charlie Harrelson
    EvOR Reviewer
    855 Markham Wood Rd
    Longwood, Fl.

  • Please, no emails with links to music. We do require a CD for any reviews.
    Reviews will appear in the order that CD's are sent so don't delay as it takes a few weeks for reviews to appear! If your CD is good enough it may qualify for the top 25 Indie CD's of all time.

  • All content © 2001 -2015 EvO:R Entertainment